Blogging through John Milbank’s Theology and Social Theory: An Introduction

I’ve begun working my way through John Milbank’s Theology and Social Theory: Beyond Secular Reason. It’s been on my to-read list for a long time now, but it’s difficult enough that I have stayed away. However, I think it will prove helpful for a paper I have been working on, so have decided that it is time to forge ahead and try to make some sense of this book! I’m going to be blogging through it, mostly because I find that the work of actually laying out an argument is very helpful in understanding it, especially for difficult texts (this is more-or-less how a college professor of mine had us read through Hegel’s Phenomenology of Spirit). But, if anyone out in the ether is struggling with this text as much as I am, perhaps these reflections will prove helpful! My intention at this point is to go chapter-by-chapter, laying out the argument and responding to it as best as I am able. Let’s see how this goes!

Blogging through John Milbank’s Theology and Social Theory: An Introduction

Leave a Reply

